Challenge Accepted: Changing my Definition of Independent

Independent? I have a career. I own a home. I own a car. I pay my own bills. I do my own shopping. I have a savings account. Surely this means I’m independent, right?

I’ve recently been reminiscing about my solo trip to Amsterdam last summer. During those two weeks I experienced a different type of independence; one that was quite different than at home. But why? Why is it that when I travel I thoroughly enjoy taking public transit? At home I haven’t taken a bus since 2010 and I take the Skytain the least amount possible. Why is it that I didn’t hesitate one bit to eat at a restaurant alone in Amsterdam? I wouldn’t dream of doing that at home. And walking around Vancouver by myself? No way! Yet walking around Amsterdam solo was incredible.

Why is it that when I’m at home I don’t push myself out of my comfort zone? I’m guessing it’s because I don’t have to. I’m surrounded by family and friends to join me at restaurants or exploring Vancouver and I don’t need to take public transit often because I have a car.  But if there is something I want to do that nobody else wants to or nobody else is available that day…I don’t do it. I stay home and miss out. It’s ridiculous really. I long to feel that sense of independence I had in Amsterdam when I’m at home. And so, I’ve challenged myself…

Once a month for the remainder of 2017 I will do something I wouldn’t normally do. Alone. Go out for coffee and actually sit in the coffee shop. Eat a meal in a restaurant. Go to a movie. Walk around downtown Vancouver. Go for a hike. Check out a museum. Really, the possibilities are endless. Maybe by the end of the year I’ll feel that different type of independence or maybe I won’t. Maybe that feeling can only be found while in a different country. All I know is that there is only one way to find out.

One thought on “Challenge Accepted: Changing my Definition of Independent

Leave a Reply

